How to Relate Fantastic Beast and Harry Potter

 

harry-potter-films
courtesy:harrypotterwikia

I’m such a Potterhead to post about this. I really miss watching Harry Potter after I watched Fantastic Beast last night. This movie was out when I’m on my Final Examination week, so that was difficult to watch the movie. But when I watch the movie, and I saw the characters, I immediately searched about that and surprised. I don’t know whether I forgot the Harry Potter Books’s story line or it wasn’t written on the book but I can’t wait any longer to share about this information. Let’s sink our thought about both of the movies.

fantastic_beast_movie_family

First, I’m gonna tell you about Fantastic Beast first. Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them is another J.K Rowling masterpiece about Newton (Newt) Scamander that traveled from London to New York for an adventure in early 1900’s. He collected so many kinds of Magical Animals inside his ‘Case’. Newt Scamander authored “Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them” book which was the standard textbook in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry about Magizoology. In the film, mentioned that Newt Scamander was one of Hogwarts’ student, and Albus Dumbledore really liked him. But somehow he was expelled from Hogwarts, but he contributed so much for Wizards World. Later on, he met Porpentina (Tina) Goldstein in his New York trip, Quineey Goldstein, and Jacob Kowalski which would be his partner in his mission to save both Wizards and Muggles’ World.

luna_lovegood_harry_potter_xenophilius_ginny_weasley_chochang_fantastic_beast

Second, let’s move forward to Harry Potter’s era in late 1900’s. We knew that Harry Potter met many Magical Creatures in the story, especially the creatures that Hagrid showed to him. One of the creatures that Harry met is Thestrals, the black winged horse that resembles Bat’s wings. He and Luna Lovegood could see Thestrals when the others didn’t, because they witnessed their parent’s death. Luna had become one of Harry’s best friend in school. She always could calm Harry down, and helped Harry in any situation. Her traits was very unique, many students in Hogwarts bullied her and fortunately her best friend, Ginny Weasley always stood up for her. But among all students in Hogwarts, Luna is my favorite. She’s somehow different, clever and had that unique charm. Luna is the daughter of Xenophilius Lovegood, the editor of “The Quibbler” magazine. So.. why suddenly I’m talking about Luna? Okay, it’s because…

Luna is Newt Scamander’s granddaughter-in-law, and I just knew that lately. Daaymmm

If we put all the characters in Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them and in Harry Potter in the right order with family tree, it would be like this..

newton_scamander_luna_lovegood_family_tree_fantastic_beast_harry_potter
Scamander – Lovegood Family Tree

aaaaah this movie heals my longing to Luna Lovegood character in Harry Potter’s story so much! Turned out that Luna Lovegood married Rolf Scamander, which was the grandson of Newt Scamander in Fantastic Beast! Yeaahh so happy 🙂 🙂 🙂

Now I’m just waiting the next Fantastic Beast and Where to Find them story and I’m wondering, will J.K Rowling tell us about Newt Scamander and Tina Goldstein’s child? or even the Rolf Scamander and how Rolf met Luna?  I can’t even wait for this!

Leave a Reply

